Skip to main content
#
Charlotte Writers' Club
Home
About CWC
Board of Directors
Calendar of Events
CWC-North
Meeting Photos
Membership
Contests
Workshops
Critique Groups 2017
Newsletters
Open Mic Nights
Partnerships
Archives
Contact CWC
FAQ

Want to make a donation?
Click the button below.

CWC North Calendar of Events

NEXT CWC NORTH EVENT DETAILS

2018-2019 CWC North Upcoming Events

Saturday, March 16, 2019 - 4pm

Reading Book Signing at Main Street Books, 126 South Main, Davidson for Judy Goldman’s new release: Together: A Memoir of a Marriage and a Medical
Mishap
(to be published by Nan A. Talese/Doubleday, Feb. 12, 2019). CWC North and MSBs are co-sponsoring this event that is free and open to the public. Online: judygoldman.com, and mainstreetbooksdavidson.com.

 To relieve his back pain, my husband had an epidural (a procedure so routine it’s given to women during childbirth). The minute the needle pushed into his spine, he was paralyzed from the waist down. That’s the starting point for my book, which looks at the changes every couple faces – the slow, ordinary ones and the sudden, dramatic ones. Identities shift, roles switch. How do we adjust? This is a story about the ever-after of marriage -- the life we dream of and the life we make. --Judy Goldman.

She is the author of a previous memoir, Losing My Sister; two novels, Early Leaving and The Slow Way Back: and two books of poetry, Wanting To Know the End and Holding Back Winter. Losing My Sister was a finalist for both Southeast Independent Booksellers Alliance’s Memoir of the Year and ForeWord Review’s Memoir of the Year. The Slow Way Back was a finalist for SIBA’s Novel of the Year, winner of the Sir Walter Raleigh Fiction Award and the Mary Ruffin Poole Award for First Fiction. Wanting To Know the End won the Gerald Cable Poetry Prize, as well as the top three prizes for a book of poetry by a North Carolinian. Her work has appeared in The Southern Review, Kenyon Review, Gettysburg Review, Ohio Review, Prairie Schooner, Shenandoah, Crazyhorse, and Real Simple magazine; her book reviews in The Washington Post and The Charlotte Observer; her commentaries on public radio in Chapel Hill and Charlotte. She received the Hobson Award for Distinguished Achievement in Arts and Letters, the Fortner Writer and Community Award for “outstanding generosity to other writers and the larger community,” and the Beverly D. Clark Author Award from Queens University and is a member of Charlotte Writers’ Club. She lives with her husband in Charlotte, NC. They have two married children and four grandchildren.

Advance Praise for Together: A Memoir of a Marriage and a Medical Mishap
“Together is a riveting account of a strong marriage tested when a routine medical procedure goes terribly wrong. Judy Goldman beautifully shows us the challenges and setbacks but also the triumphs as two people find strengths within themselves to create a new life together.” -- Ron Rash, author of The New York Times bestseller, Serena

"This is a book about the challenges and limitations of a body: the body of a man suffering a medical mishap; the body of a marriage rocked by uncertainty and fear; the body of a woman pushed to exhaustion while supporting her husband beyond his ability to support himself; and the body of a family struggling to come to terms with the shock of its own unmooring. Judy Goldman is that rare writer whose inward gaze forces her reader to gaze inward as well, revealing something both brutal and beautiful about the world in which we live. As we plunge into her life while considering our own, we do not always like what we find, but with Judy Goldman as our guide we will undoubtedly find the truth. I loved this book. I really loved this book."
-- Wiley Cash, New York Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind Than

Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 3pm

A Book Launch Party at Main Street Books, 126 South Main, in Davidson for Lisa Williams Kline’s new young adult novel, One Week of You, to be published in February, 2019 by Goldenjay Books Imprint of Blue Crow Publishing Company. This is a free event co-sponsored by MSBs and Charlotte Writers’ Club North. Online: bluecrowpublishing.com and mainstreetbooksdavidson.com.

 For Lizzy Winston, one week will change everything.
Fifteen-year-old Lizzy Winston has always been a good kid—and she sees the good in mosteveryone else, too. When she meets the charismatic Andy Knox, she starts crushing hard. He distracts her from other parts of her life that she’s trying to hold together. Her grades are slipping, she causes her mom to miss a new job opportunity, and her friends’ actions are making her question what’s right.

 
Andy seems like a great guy. He’s funny and charming, the Clown Prince of Lakeside High. He loves digging up news stories for the high school TV station, but he’s got some secrets of his own. As he and Lizzy get closer, she grows skeptical of his motives. When she does her own digging on Andy, she learns that everyone has secrets—no matter how good they seem.

Someone’s pulling pranks at Lakeside, and Lizzy thinks she knows who it is. When the pranks escalate and put students in danger, she must decide where her loyalty lies. She doesn’t want to get a friend in trouble, but if she keeps quiet, someone will get hurt. In one week, she learns that adulthood brings new, complicated responsibilities. Is she ready to do the right thing if it means losing her friends? 
 

Fans of Eleanor and Park and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda will delight in this heartwarming coming of age story about first loves and hard truths.

Lisa is the author of nine novels for young people, including the five-book Sisters in All Seasons series (Zondervan) and Eleanor Hill (Carus), which won the North Carolina Juvenile Literature Award. She holds a masters degree in Radio, Television, and Film from UNC-Chapel Hill, and an MFA from Queens University. She has served as president of the Charlotte Writers’ Club, is a former board member of the North Carolina Writers’ Network, is a mentor in the SCBWI Mentor Program, and critiques manuscripts for Writers’ Digest. She lives in North Carolina.

 
Praise for One Week of You
“Kline has a gift for writing complex characters and creating stories with a beating heart.“ –Emily Smith Pearce, author of Isabel and the Miracle Baby and Slowpoke

“Achingly true to new love in all its confusion and comedy, and even its moral complexity.” –Claudia Mills, author of Zero Tolerance

“Kline has adroitly combined all the ingredients of a heartfelt coming of age story with an enticing mystery—and there’s plenty of humor and poignant life lessons baked right in.” –John J. Bonk, author of Dustin Grubbs: One-Man Show and Dustin Grubbs: Take Two

August 12, 2018 -- 2pm - A reading and book signing for Idol Talk, with Tamra Wilson, Judy Goldman, Amy Rogers, and Lisa Williams Kline.
October 13, 2018: 4pm-5pm book release party in Davidson at Main Street Books for Lillian's Flying School by Nancy Lammers, co-sponsored by MSBs and CWC North.

November 1, 2018 - 7pm - reading and discussion with Ann Campanella, author of Motherhood: Lost and Found, a memoir; Mary Ann Drummond, author of Grandma & Me, a kid's guide for Alzheimer's & Dementia, and Meet Me Where I Am, a caregiving guide, and Frank Morelli, author of the young adult novel, No Sad Songs. 

November 10, 2018 -  9:00am - 11:30am - Workshop: The Power and Necessity of Empathy in Fiction Writing led by Michel Stone
January 26, 2019 - 1:00pm - 4:00pm - Poetry Workshop led by Irene Blair Honeycutt:
Poetry in the Passing Moment

Spring Events:

Saturday, March 16, 2019 - 4pm- Reading Book Signing at Main Street Books, 126 South Main, Davidson for Judy Goldman’s new release: Together: A Memoir of a Marriage and a Medical Mishap (to be published by Nan A. Talese/Doubleday, Feb. 12, 2019), co-sponsored by Main Street Books and CWC North.

Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 3pm- Book launch in Davidson at Main Street Books, for One Week of You by Lisa Williams Kline, to be published by Blue Crow Publishing in 2019, co-sponsored by Main Street Books and CWC North.

 
Saturday, April 27, at 7 p.m. at the Warehouse Performing Arts Center, 9216 Westmoreland Road, in Cornelius. Charlotte Writers’ Club North invites you to meet the press for a panel discussion,  Journalism Under Siege or Not with David Boraks news journalist WFAE, Mark Washburn, media journalist Charlotte Observer, Tommy Tomlinson, podcast journalist and author of The Elephant in the Room and Pam Kelley, former Observer reporter and author of Money Rock.

Charlotte Writers' Club
Charlotte Writers' Club

P.O. Box 220954
Charlotte, NC 28222
 
If you have a question or concern about this website, please contact the Webmaster.
2006-2018 © All rights reserved.